## Tenth Judicial District Judicial Nominating Commission Minutes June 18, 2013 Meeting

**Date:** June 18, 2013 **Time:** 3:00 p.m.

Location: Johnson County Administration Building, 111 S. Cherry, Room 202,

Olathe, KS

In attendance: Hon. Karen Arnold-Burger, Secretary, Edna Baginsky, Terry Presta, Charley German, Gregory Doring, Steve Howe, Brett Milbourn, Richard Market Levis Mariente and Vision Language.

Merker, Judge Kevin Moriarty, and Vivien Jennings.

Absent: Justice Lee Johnson, Chair; Ron Ryckman, Marcia Rinehart, Michelle

Kinzer, Lee Smithyman,

The meeting was called to order by Judge Karen Arnold-Burger at 3:15 p.m. and a quorum declared. Steve Howe moved to approve the minutes of the January 18, 2013 meeting and Charley German seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

At 3:20 p.m. the meeting was open for public comment. Twelve members of the public appeared. Six spoke, all in support of applicant Rhonda Mason and increased diversity on the bench. The speakers were Katrina Robertson, attorney and representative of the NAACP, Pastor Bobby Love, representative of MORE<sup>2</sup> (Metro Organization for Racial and Economic Equity), David Grummon, attorney and MORE<sup>2</sup> member, Wandra Minor, community activist, Amber Versola, with the NAACP and Donald Bruce. After all people present were given an opportunity to speak, the public comment session was closed at 3:35 p.m..

At 3:40 p.m. a motion was made by Judge Kevin Moriarty and seconded by Brett Milbourn to adjourn to executive session until 3:55 p.m. to discuss confidential information regarding the qualifications of applicants for the position of Judge of the Tenth Judicial District as allowed by K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(1). The motion passed unanimously.

At 3:55 p.m. the public meeting reconvened. At 3:56 p.m. a motion was made by Judge Karen Arnold-Burger and seconded by Edna Baginsky to interview all applicants. A discussion ensued and the motion was subsequently defeated by a vote of 2-8.

The Commissioners proceeded to fill out and sign ballots to determine who would be interviewed. Commissioners were allowed to vote for as many interviewees as they wanted. Judge Moriarty tallied the ballots and then announced the vote totals. It was determined by consensus that the Commission would follow its prior practice of interviewing all applicants that received at least 5 votes (50% of those present and voting). This resulted in the selection of 8 candidates to interview.

A random drawing was then held to determine which liaisons would be assigned to which interviewees. The assignments were as follows:

INTERVIEWEES	COMMISSIONER ASSIGNED	
	NON-LAWYER	LAWYER
Veronica Dersch	Rinehart	Moriarty
Rhonda Mason	Rinehart	Moriarty
Michael McCulloch	Ryckman	Milbourn
Clayton Norkey	Kinzer	Howe
Jacquelyn Rokusek	Doring	Merker
Erica Schoenig	Jennings	German
Wayne Smith	Presta	Smithyman
Jennifer Vath	Baginsky	Arnold-Burger

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Approved this 10<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2013

Karen Arnold-Burger /s/

Hon. Karen Arnold-Burger Secretary

2