## Tenth Judicial District Judicial Nominating Commission Minutes August 11, 2008 Meeting

**Date:** August 11, 2008

**Time:** 9:00 a.m.

**Location:** Johnson County Administration Building, 111 S Cherry, Room 201, Olathe,

KS

**In attendance:** Justice Lee Johnson, Chair; Edna Baginsky, Jacob Swisher, Meeting Secretary, Scott Gyllenborg, Marcia Rinehart, Larry McClain; Lee Smithyman, Janis

McMillen, Brant Tidwell, Charles German and Kevin Moriarty

Absent: Hon. Karen Arnold-Burger, Secretary, Terry Presta, Michelle Kinzer, Victor

Bergman

The meeting was called to order by Justice Lee Johnson at 9:03 a.m.

After the meeting was called to order and a quorum declared, Janis McMillen moved to approve the minutes of the May 8, 2008 meeting. Marcia Rinehart seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously and the minutes were thereby approved.

Justice Johnson then briefed the Commission that Judge John Anderson did not file for retention, thus making an opening effective January 8, 2009. There was discussion as to the process to begin work on the replacement for Justice Anderson.

Justice Johnson then called upon audience members for public comment. None being received, at 9:15 a.m. a motion was made by Commissioner Tidwell and seconded by Commissioner Rinehart to adjourn to executive session until 9:45 a.m. to discuss qualifications of applicants/interviewees for the position of Judge of the Tenth Judicial District as allowed by K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(1). The motion passed unanimously, 10-0.

At 9:45 a.m. the public meeting reconvened. Justice Johnson seeing members of the public then called upon audience members for public comment. There was one comment. The audience member posed the following question to the Commission. "If you were going to select a doctor are you going to ask a politician?"

At 9:50 a.m. a motion was made by Commissioner Gyllenborg and seconded by Commissioner Baginsky to adjourn to executive session until 10:15 a.m. to discuss qualifications of applicants/interviewees for the position of Judge of the Tenth Judicial District as allowed by K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(1). The motion passed unanimously, 10-0. At 10:15 a.m. the public meeting reconvened.

Discussion then turned to whether the Commission would select interviewees in the same way we had during the last selection process. There have been members of the community who have contacted members of the Commission requesting that it interview

each applicant. A motion was made by Commissioner McClain and seconded by Commissioner Tidwell to interview everyone. The motion passed, 7-3.

Discussion then turned to the time allotment and questions to be asked of each interviewee. It was determined that each commissioner would send the Secretary, Karen Arnold-Burger, suggestions of the standing question and the commission would determine via e-mail the standing questions for each interviewee.

Discussion then turned to setting the interview list and setting the schedule for the August 22, 2008 meeting to be held at that Johnson County Administration Building, 111 S Cherry, Room 200, Olathe, KS at 8:00 a.m. The meeting will start with an Executive Session at 8:00 a.m. then eight interviews starting at 9:00 a.m. The Commission will hold a working Executive Session lunch from 12:00-1:00 p.m., then hold the remaining eight interviews from 1:00-4:00 p.m. with voting to follow.

The interview teams with the corresponding candidates are below:

Scott Gyllenborg & Michelle Kinzer
G. Gordon Atcheson & Daniel Wayne Vokins

Victor Bergman & Janis McMillen
Jon Blongewicz & Jean Uvodich

Lee Smithyman & Terry Presta
Paul Burmaster, Rekha Sharma-Crawford & Michael Halloran

Charles German & Marcia Rinehart Henry Cox & Robert Scott

Karen Arnold-Burger & Edna Baginsky Thomas Kelly Ryan & Veronica Dersch

Larry McClain & Brant Tidwell
James Phelan & Neil Foth

Kevin Moriarty & Jacob Swisher Ronald Nelson, Ellen Goldman, Matthew Miller

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 10:45 a.m. Minutes were prepared by Meeting Secretary, Jacob Swisher.

Approved this 22nd day of August, 2008

Karen and t

Karen Arnold-Burger

Secretary