Merit Selection at Work

For more than 40 years Johnson County has used a judicial merit selection and retention system for District Court and Magistrate Judges. The Tenth Judicial District Judicial Nominating Commission consists of a chairperson, 7 lawyers and 7 non-lawyers.

When a vacancy is announced, the Commission commences the judicial nomination procedure. All of the Commission’s meetings are open to the public. The Commission welcomes citizen input and engagement.